Board Meetings

Meeting date, time and location

  • 7:30 pm
  • Third Tuesday of each month
  • High School Library
    401 East 5th St.
    Mackinaw, IL 61755

Board meetings are open to the public with the exception of those designated as executive or closed sessions. Learn more about participating in meetings. Board meetings proceed according to a specified order. View board meeting minutes to learn more.

By policy, officers and appointments are for two years. The current term runs from May 2015 to April 2017.

  • Michele Jacobs, Superintendent
  • Gary Cates, President
  • Steve Yarnall, Vice President
  • Julie Burr, Secretary
  • Kelly Burmaster
  • Lena Grimm
  • Aaron Schlupp
  • Steve Stimson Jr.

The first member listed in each committee is the chair.



Buildings and Grounds Stimson, Schlupp, Yarnall,
Finance and Policy Burmaster, Burr, Yarnall
Negotiations Stimson, Burmaster, Burr,
Transportation Cates, Grimm, Yarnall
Community Advisory Grimm, Cates, Burr
Insurance Grimm, Burr, Yarnall

Board Overview
The board consists of seven members elected at large for overlapping four-year terms. Elections are held each spring in odd-numbered years. The Board of Education, within the limits of its authority under the Illinois Constitution and School Code, exercises control over the entire school district and determines educational and financial policies under which the district functions.

The superintendent of schools is selected by the Board of Education and serves as the chief executive officer of the board and of the district.

Open Meetings Act (OMA) training is now required for school board members

Public Act 97-0504 requires all elected local officials, including school board members, to receive training on the OMA. This will apply to any school board member who is in office as of January 1, 2012. They will have one year from that date to receive the training. Going forward, anyone appointed or elected after January 1, 2012, must complete the OMA training within 90 days of taking the Oath of Office.

The following Deer Creek-Mackinaw School Board members have completed the Open Meetings Act training.

  • Steve Stimson
  • Gary Cates
  • Lena Grimm
  • Julie Burr
  • Steve Yarnall

Mandatory Professional Development Leadership Training for School Board Memebers

The following member of the Deer Creek-Mackinaw School District No. 701 have completed the Mandatory Professional Development Leadership Training as required in Public Act 97-08:

  • Steve Stimson
  • Gary Cates
  • Lena Grimm
  • Julie Burr
  • Steve Yarnall
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.